« USC Cheap Shot | Main | The Cold, Hard Facts »

October 27, 2009

Comments

Feed You can follow this conversation by subscribing to the comment feed for this post.

Kristen

You might want to brush up on the rules of football before posting about "conspiracies." Cody taking his helmet off would be treated as a dead ball foul. No time left on the clock, no NEXT play to enforce it on. If there had been time left on the clock, Bama would have retained possession and it's a 15 yard penalty. Victory formation.

vw

Thats only a part of the conspiracy. The fact that bama only had 1 flag the whole game despite an obvious offsides, the fact that tennessee got penalized whenever they were moving into scoring position. The sec officiating is the worst I have ever seen. These officials are a huge black mark on our conference

fan

Kristen,

You might want to brush up on your rules! Game cannot end on a defensive penalty! Bama and gators move on just like the SEC wants!

Where there is smoke there is fire!

cleetis

There has been a lot of discussion about the "no call" on Cody taking off his helmet. I haven't seen any discussion on what appears to been an obvious penalty on Julio Jones for "leaping" on the final play. Look at the film of the final play and look behind the defensive line of scrimmage for Alabama's #8 and then read the rule on "leaping". If called, the penalty is 15 yards and a rekick.


" No defensive player who runs forward from beyond the neutral zone and leaps from beyond the neutral zone in an obvious attempt to block a field goal or try may land on any player(s). It is not a foul if the leaping player was aligned in a stationary position within one yard of the line of scrimmage when the ball was snapped."

So how come a penalty wasn't called and why isn't Lane screaming about this?

Kristen

fan---

It's treated as a DEADBALL foul. And that does not extend the game.

Extension of Periods
ARTICLE 3. A period shall be extended until a down (other than a try), free from live-ball fouls not penalized as dead-ball fouls, has been played when:
a. A penalty is accepted for a live-ball foul(s) not penalized as a dead-ball foul that occurs during a down in which time expires (Exception: Rule 10-2-2-g-1) (A.R. 3-2-3-I-VIII).
b. Offsetting fouls occur during a down in which time expires.
c. An inadvertent whistle is sounded or an official signals the ball dead during a down in which time expires.

Jay Koester

Except Kristen, Kiffen is pointing out that it wasn't a deadball foul. Dude took off his helmet way before the ball was recovered. The quote is pretty clear, so don't be dense.

"A guy throws his helmet as the ball's still live. He throws his helmet and then two of their guys go and recover the ball. It's a 15-yard penalty, and you kick again."

The Ref

Kiffin doesn't know the rule correctly, as Andy Staples pointed out on SI.com - the helmet removal is not enforced as a defensive penalty but a deadball penalty even if it happens while the ball is still live. If there was time remaining it would have been Bama's ball 15 yards back of the recovery.

Kristen

Thank you, Ref.

No one can seem to understand the fact that it is TREATED as a DEAD-BALL FOUL.

Doen't matter if the ball is live or not. The penalty would be enforced on the NEXT play. Still Bama's ball. No re-kick.

Sheesh.

Bobby Fenton

I am sick of the conspiracy idiots. Criticize officiating all you want. You're right, it does suck and it is wildly inconsistent. But please stop acting like it's being done intentionally. It makes all of you look foolish.

Per Andy Staples' SI.com column:

Because Alabama blocked and recovered the ball, Alabama had possession. The game can't end on a defensive penalty, but because of the possession change, Alabama wasn't on defense. We'll let SEC spokesman Charles Bloom take it from here.

"The foul for taking helmet off is a live ball foul treated as a dead-ball foul," Bloom wrote in an e-mail Saturday night. "That is, if it happens on a play where time does not expire then the penalty is enforced on the following play. However since the clock ran out on that play, then there is no next play, so there is no penalty to mark off."

But wait, Andy Staples went to, you guessed it, FLORIDA! So he must be part of the coverup. Right? RIGHT?

We anxiously await an official correction on this now proven-to-be incorrect post from The Wiz. I have a feeling it may be a while, though.

On the bright side, there is a future for all of you at Fox News.

PNG1983

If you believe Kiffin's excuse for not running another play, I've got some ocean-front property in Kansas I'd like to sell you.

The comments to this entry are closed.

  • TwitterAllDixieRock.jpg

  • FacebookAllDixieRock.jpg

  • AllDixieRockcom.jpg

BlogAds

July 2014

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    

Search The Wiz

Categories