Lane Kiffin violated Tennessee state law by driving with a California license for most of his duration as Volunteer coach, the Knoxville News Sentinel reports.
State law requires that a new resident apply for an in-state license within 30 days of moving. Failure to do so is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $50 and court costs. Kiffin was Volunteer coach for 408 days before jumping to USC, meaning he was in violation for 378 days.
Kiffin wasn't alone. His father Monte, mother Robin and wife Layla never possessed a Tennessee license, according to records.
Lane and Monte each received two loaner vehicles when they came to work for the university.
"We knew they each had valid driver's licenses," Tennessee spokeswoman Tiffany Carpenter told the News Sentinel. "All the paperwork was done when they first arrived. I don't think we would have had any reason to know that [they hadn't changed their licenses]. I don't know if they ever realized they had to do that."
Lane Kiffin wrecked one of loaners — a Lexus — on the night of Aug. 12 or early in the morning of Aug. 13th. The coach ran into a wooden fence about one-half mile from his residence. He left the vehicle and walked home, explaining later that fell asleep at the wheel after two weeks of late nights working at fall camp.
"He left it because it was the middle of the night, but he went back the next morning," Carpenter said.